The Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) and the Provincial Government of Batanes signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) last April 28, 2015 for the creation of a Batanes Food Safety Team (BFST) that aims to instil awareness and importance of food safety to all food handlers and the public in the province.

The Batanes Food Safety team was created pursuant to the Food Safety Act of 2013 also known as Republic Act 10611 “An Act to Strengthen the Food Safety Regulatory System in the Country, To Protect Consumer Health & Facilitate market Access of Local Foods and Food Products and for other Purpose”.

DTI Batanes provincial caretaker Ms. Marietta Salviejo said that, the team is tasked to monitor the compliance of all food business operators in the food safety standards in their entire production process, as provided in the Food Safety Act of 2013.

Other signatories to the MOA are Provincial Governor Hon. Vicente S. Gato, DOST Provincial Director, Ms. Nora T. Garcia, , President of Batanes State College (BSC) Dr. Edwin F. Macabballug; Department of Education (DepEd) Division Schools Superintendent Ms. Wivina B. Gonzales, Ms. Julie Ann Banganan, Technical Education Skills Development Authority (TESDA) Provincial Director, OIC-Provincial Agricultural Officer Mr. Cesar Doroteo V. Hostallero, and Provincial Health Officer Dr. Roel E. Nicolas.

Another meeting will be scheduled to define the roles and responsibilities of concerned government and private agencies as well as business operators involve in food business in the enforcement of food safety and sanitary rules and regulations in the province.